IC · personal evaluation

Character Reform

Without hitting the persona attack overload button I’d contemplated just five small character traits one needs to curb for this year.  We are all with flaw and our densely inflated pride fogs our view and we sometimes don’t like to hear that or accept it.

25056773433_f104804eb4_s

We need a pause of self-examination to check for split ends and sharp edges on our disposition.  Before you whip out that finger and tell me you are who you are- and the world can just like it.  Might I say, that, that is a very true statement- but we all need do better, improve even, if not for yourself than for the people surrounding you.  You might be hard person to deal with.  CALM DOWN- don’t point that water gun in my direction!

Complaining:   Who doesn’t have something to fuss about now and then? The dog got in the trash, someone took my parking spot, or those people are in my favorite church pew. Now you’re steaming and stomping fee fie fo fum and the world shall know your wrath.  Have you met that person that is always fussing to hear one’s own hot air bark at discontent over uncontrolled issues?  The mail man was late, early, furry, or has white legs.  Obsessive complaining over issues you can control- these kids are disrespectful and are always complaining. HMMmm.. Very Interesting. That’s not to say that there aren’t righteous things to be upset over.  Take them in stride-Don’t take it out on the world- and most especially on your spouse and children. Deep breath, somethings are just out of your control and sometimes we need to be ok with that.  The world isn’t perfect and the people that fill it are certainly not either.

bashful.jpg

 

Negative Attitude-:  Give that tude the boot.  This one fits with complaining very easily. I sometimes realize that I’ve been stomping around with a good grump and pause- to think silently to self, where the heck did this come from.  True story- I will plead the blood of Jesus.  “In the name of Jesus- get this monkey off my back”. Before I realize it, my breathing has slowed and my blood has stopped boiling.   Life is so much better and feeling more positive.  Being thankful for the blessings we have instead of growling at their very existence.  Taking a breather and praying for someone else will do wonders to curb a negative outlook.  If you are asking God to bless someone  how can out hold onto that steam roller filled with anger.

Selfishness:  You are special, unique, and original but you don’t have to always have the window seat.  In an all about me society we can get stuck on the pamper me cruise ship.  Sometimes life rolls right along and you have to take a back seat, drive a little further ,or spend a little more. When we are not selfish we teach our children without using words to not be self-centered- to put others first. They mimic the very best and worst of ourselves.  Uhm. I hate to tell you but that irritating nature of you kiddo just may be one of your pet faults.  Selfishness breeds complaining and gives birth to a negative attitude.

But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble. James 4:6

 Impatience:  I have been guilty of this one a time or two.  We all have been blameworthy of wanting something done yesterday when it is today.  I have learned the hard way to let it go.  Take a breath again- Remind myself that the world does not revolve around me.  We all need to slow down and enjoy life a bit more anyway.  That can be hard when you are in a hurry to be somewhere in a tense situation.  Those are the moments you need someone else to grant you grace.  We all have bills to pay and dreams on the horizon.  You want someone to be understanding and considerate for your needs.  As the world turns- you need to learn to grant some grace to someone else.

Whininess: My least favorite of all annoying personalities can be like nails on a chalkboard for some.  I’m one of those people with the twitching eye when hearing the wailing child in a store.  I didn’t allow my kids to whine about life or circumstances.  Whiney behavior is another learned trait or a really bad habit to carry. What are your options: buck up and make things better or move on.  Crying is grief or pain ailment of sorts.  I consider this most different from walking around with foot and leg dragging with a pitch curtailing tone wailing of how unfair the world is to you.  Yes, life is unfair.  Put away your participation ribbon, everyone’s a winner trophy, wipe your face, hair in a bun, pull up your pants, and get busy. There is no one inherently good at everything.

choose

So, you’re not perfect.  I’m not beating a drum of perfection sitting in my recliner at the summit named flawless. These are not fruits of the spirit, friends.  Yes, even with a chronic illness that makes me sick and grumpy– I shall be more humble.  I want to be a more caring Christian, I want my children to exhibit the same carefulness in their daily lives.  Have I told you – lately….. how God has blessed you?   Jesus was perfect in all his ways. He is the example set before.  You have to admit.  The world could use a lot more Jesus.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. Galations 5:22-23

Lena

 

 

