IC · personal evaluation · Teens

..and we begin again.

My little kids loved to draw pictures.  Every now and again the pencil would fling the wrong way.   Immediately upon the disapproval of the stray mark the whole paper was judged unfit to be crumpled and tossed.  Instinctively, even at such a young age they wanted a perfect likeness.  Yet, at their age, experience and the hand & eye were not yet a strong and a cooperative team.

ajdoobs
AJ Easterling

Perhaps you have to pen some important invitations, an important letter, or personal thank you notes. That’s not done much by hand anymore.  However, if I were to misspell a word- it’s ruined -and it must go. Why?  We want things to be perfect.  I don’t want to send a special note or invite with scribble scratch on it.   And so we begin again.  Some years ago we did everything by pen or the faithful forgiving pencil.  Modern culture has electronic helping entertainers that always produce us with a general standard.   We can type, draw, color, and design with ease of perfection and uniformity.  In some cases handwriting seems to be a Lost Art.

Had you ever painted a wall or room and hated it afterwards. Lil Sis painted nearly her whole bedroom pink and brown and was utterly disgusted by the color. It looked like puked pepto on the wall; so she set out to do it all again.  Cooking and baking tend be a bit more forgiving- offering do overs next time. Unless you are on a time crunch the night before a bake sale or special meal where looks matter.  We can learn from our impromptu mishaps and try not to repeat them a second time until we achieve the perfect cookie, tortilla, or pie crust. Once perfection is achieved we save that recipe to be duplicated and shared for the future.

I’m taking a gigantic leap here- have you ever felt like you wanted a life do over?  Stay with me here.

A) I’m not suicidal.        B) I want to keep my family.

Sometimes one really wishes they could have made better choices in our younger years that our older selves would’ve appreciated.  There is a multitude of leeway here in all aspects of life.  Most would remark on how they would change their financial status, got more/less education,  changes in child rearing,  differing jobs, and maybe where they lived.  Regret has such a negative connotation for most folks.  And young folks are determined to “Not regret” anything- when the old most passionately do regret something.

What are some things you would have done differently- knowing now what you know- wishing you knew it then…

  • I’d drank a few less Dr. Peppers.
  • I always felt like we have ate real food- but I would have made even better choices.
  • I would have gone to see my Grandmother and Dad more.
  • I would have been a bit more assertive with doctors.
  • I would have taken their word for it less, investigated more, and asked more questions.
  • I’d delayed cell phone consumption among the kiddies.

We can’t wad up life and throw it away.  Life is so precious.  No matter if we are to blame for our own defilement or if the world conspired against us. No one has done it perfectly-I dare you to find someone that has with the exception of Jesus Christ.  It’s not all bad.  God can take all of those human mistakes and use them for good.  That life changing experience you had could be relateable to someone else younger and could be of encouragement to them.

I have had to begin again. IC (Interstitial Cystitis) has changed my life and turned upside down the right side up again. It seems that I have had to alter everything about my life.  It’s so much more than reading the ingredients on food. Non food items that touch my skin are even an issue. Yesterday, I had a reaction to hairspray?!…Stress, life beyond my control, and some things in my control trigger flares.  Uncomfortable clothes, hard bench or seat, too much water, and not enough- yesh.  Each day I have to make a conscious effort to begin again.   This is the life I have, so I must eat my bacon and be happy.

I guess my moral to the story is teens- listen to your parents.  At least entertain their thoughts to be saved in a box for reference in your brain.  We may chose not to regret now- however life has a way of cycling around.  You know, your parents weren’t always fuddy duddies that smelled funny, and loved to ruin your plans.  Once upon a time, they were mini versions of you.  OO… That’s kinda scary- right!

Living in His Mercies,

♥ Lena

 It is of the Lord‘s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:22-23)

for good.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “..and we begin again.

  1. Yes! Many times I’ve wished for a do over in different aspects of my life. Even today there are things I wish I could go back to and change. Decisions I would have made differently. So thankfull that His mercies are new every morning! Love ya!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would also like to go back thru my life and change the decisions and actions that I believe would alter how I am today. I’d like to have realized way before now that I really don’t need to eat “3 meals” a day, I only need to eat when I am truly hungry, and I really don’t need to eat everything on my plate. I would have finished college. I would have avoided some of the people and choices I made in life that led to mistakes I made. There are many things that I would prefer to change if given the chance, however one shift in something 20-30 years ago could completely erase the life I have now. So I trust in the fact that God can see the end from the beginning of my life. He, alone, knows where I need to be when I exit this world and enter into eternity. While I was reading your thoughts, the thought occured to me that although we live our life like the stroke of a permanent marker to a page. Everyone has at some point and time had a permament marker bleed thru the page onto either the pages or the surface underneath the paper we are drawing on. Our life choices are like this, not only do we affect our own “paper” but often our choices bleed thru and affect the “paper” of others. So if you change one thing in our life along the way, you affect the life of others, and you also affect the character you possess now. Everything you do molds you into the person that God wants you to be. ( Romans 5:3-4 (NIV) 3 Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.)
    So this is my final thought: Although we lived our life like the stroke of a permanent marker, God alone holds the eraser. He sent his son, Jesus, to erase every blemish and stray mark from our lives. He also sent the Holy Spirit to dwell within us so we can overcome every struggle in our life. We shouldn’t live life we are defeated ( and we all do it), we shouldn’t claim things and name things like we want to give them a home (like addictions and diseases). We should speak victory over our own lives by saying we suffer with something rather than we are or we have something. (Ex: I suffer with addiction versus saying I am an addict) The Bible says Jesus took all of that with him to the grave. (Isaiah 53:5 (NLT) But he was pierced for our rebellion, crushed for our sins. He was beaten so we could be whole. He was whipped so we could be healed.) So let’s start living our life like we believe everything Jesus’ death has given us power to overcome. Prayers are with you and yours!! Love you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Celina, you capture the wisdom of the elder so well. Everyone has regrets, but most would not care to admit it. Although much can be learned from mistakes and bad choices, most would rather have a “redo” than live with consequences. I love how your blog gets me thinking! Thank you for sharing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.