Flowers

This year has been my season of flowers.  Each and every spring I get the gardening bug like everyone else.  I want to buy those cute little 6 packs of petunias or other ornamental foliage.  My trouble is at the end of each shopping trip I find the end of my grocery list, a full cart, and the frayed end of my dollars and cents.  I inevitably say, “it will have to wait till next payday. It’s just not a priority.  You can’t eat pretty flowers.  Well, I’m sure you could- but most definitely shouldn’t.   Each payday I put it off to the next pay day until the blistering summer is here and it’s too late.  This year has been like no other.

The flowers make me smile.  I love them more so than ever before.  They truly are a small joy that I appreciate and take great joy in.  The gardener son of mine got me started this year by buying me some daisies and bluebonnets.  Hunny got me some hanging baskets for the front porch.  The last trip to town I bought some petunias and planted them the next morning.  Hunny got me some herbs to add greenery. A dear friend gave me some flowers when we first moved out here.  My house was in a different spot on the property then.  So we’ve dug those and transplanted the flowers from the back part of the property to the front.

Son wants to build me a herb and flower oasis in my backyard a calm sweet spot for relaxation of the rear and easy on the eyes.  His planning and scheming is such teasing.  I sure can’t wait.

view.jpg

I have decided that I am gonna fill up the whole flower bed around my young tree.  It is a worthy goal- to be accomplished playing in the soil and planting some visual delight for my eyes.  It is the view outside my window at my desk that I delight in each day as I study to see what the Lord would implore upon me that day.

Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost. (Romans 15:13)

So it’s no Garden of Eden, but it’s my ville.  I relish the view from my window at my desk where I see my lil tree, flowers, and mushroom solar lights with the backdrop of a blue Texas Sky and enchanting green pine trees.   Life is good.

Watching the clouds float by,

Lena

flowercollage.jpg

Leave a Reply

