PTLS

I have a new diagnosis to add to my repertoire confounding aches and complaints. Who doesn’t need another classification?   I’m not whining so don’t read me that way at all.  I am consumed with reading info- the good, the bad, and everything in between. I do have to pace myself- information overload has triggered a flare and we don’t want to add hypochondriac to that list.   I’ve joined forums, conversations, and even am now trying my hand at chronic illness blogging.  I stumbled on a comment in one of those avenues in an I C page.  I don’t even remember which one it was.  The lady had commented that she believed that her IC was caused by PTLS – sighting the major change in her hormones as the culprit.

That sent me on a rabbit trail strait to google.  What is PTLS?  Sounds like a military diagnosis of sorts, right.  Hang on to your hat- it’s about to get windy.  Post Tubal Ligation Syndrome- Yes, I had one of those. The basic, I’m not gonna have any more kids so I got my tubes tied, syndrome.   I had very trying pregnancies.  There is a medical condition labeled now for what I had way back then in 1996. I had what is now known as Hyperemesis Gravidarum.  It didn’t have a name back then- or if it did we didn’t know it.  That big medical name basically translates into English as I vomited every day- all day.  And no amount of eat a cracker helped.  I did that for three pregnancies two of which I birthed only thirteen months apart.  I had multiple hospital visits for constant fatigue and vomiting.  I almost miscarried twice.  My experience was not the bliss pregnancies that most women experience.  It was 24/7 nausea and vomiting.  If I was awake I was sick. A year or so ago, a friend posted on facebook a blog about another woman’s battle with this condition.  I read, and cried my way through the article. –A box of tissues and tears I made my way through- finally- believing- it’s not just me- it’s a real condition- I wish I had saved that article. In fact I think I did- I just can’t remember where I put it- don’t laugh, you do it too.

All three kids were born super healthy and normal with no major issues.  It was through that experience that led us to even consider the tubal. For my health and sanity it was highly recommended as it had no side effects and was the best option for our family. I, with no questions or investigation went along with the procedure. I was just barely 21, with my third baby, and so tired of being sick and tired.  To this day- I will do just about anything to prevent vomiting.

ptlsblog.jpg

Well, 17 years later there are still side effects.  This was way before the availability of the internet and online research.  I believed my doctors recommendations that the tubal was safe with no adverse effects. Maybe he believed that as well. But again, I’ve had unexplained symptoms for years- that doctors just wanna sweep under the rug.  Doctors today do not all recognize that this is a valid diagnosis.

Post tubal ligation syndrome (PTLS or PTS) is an iatrogenesis condition meaning doctor-caused or doctor produced. Many women suffer post tubal ligation syndrome after having a tubal ligation.

Check out this link- to read all of the symptoms in it’s entirety.

http://www.tubal.org/symptoms-of-pts.htm

So No, I didn’t make this up-but I think that this could be my key.  I want to get better.  So, you are  like, I really didn’t want to know all that.  Well, this is about education and awareness.  Information is the key- So; I don’t have 100% of the symptoms. I’d say more like 95%.  And some of the ones I have had chronically for almost 17 years now!  How wonderful would it be to have relief from these- if possible?

I am actively seeking a way to have the reversal surgery. It’s going to take convincing a doctor- and then figuring out how to pay for it.  I’m at a point in my life where stuff just doesn’t really matter.  I will sell my beloved “Bernie” sewing machine.  I want to feel good again, like a normal human- before I had kids.  I‘m not sure if that is even attainable.  I have to hold on to hope—and weight loss- Even with this restricted diet- I have stopped loosing. How sad is that to be restricted in everything and not even have that small consolation reward.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1)

I also, felt very encouraged by a conversation with a woman about my age that had a tubal reversal done recently after many years.  She too is diagnosed with Interstitial Cystitis.  She was but three weeks post op when we spoke; she said she already felt like a new person and had no NEW Flares with her IC since the surgery.  Three weeks is a long time- I usually have painful flare bouts every couple of days.

Pray for me as I explore these options.

Lena

Update* – since I have penned this I’ve been to see the doctor and I’m not a candidate for surgery.  Sad but expected.  More details later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

