Serving God with Monkeys

My personal monkey likes to pee all the time.  It has a delicate diet and gets cranky when I’ve been out to long, or if I’m feeling particularly stressed- he does jumping jacks on my bladder.   Nope I don’t have an alternative personality- nor am I making fun of that- but I do have a chronic illness that will stays with me.

33829560554_ddfaa5f87f

I’m not dead, I but I do have a challenging daily walk.  Some days more so than others, yet, I still desire to serve God and not sit around self-absorbed in my little bubble.  Yikes, that hurts- did that burn you?  It’s so easy to get caught up in our own little world- and more so when you have a chronic illness monkey everywhere you go.  It really is like having a two year old you have pack water, lemons, meds, extra clothes, and other what ifs.

This coming week is VBS at our church.  I’ve had the cook’s kitchen the last several years.  I do enjoy that part.  The kids are always glad to see me- as refreshment time is the highlight of their morning.  Because of my hiccupping monkey I have had to step back this year.  My daughter will take the lead role.  She has made her menu, grocery list, sign up list; she’ll make all the connections, and do the grocery shopping.  I only have to show up and help her.  I still get to have a part in this special week of ministry.

I think that sometimes because we can’t do what we wanna-we just don’t offer to help. Our pride becomes our stubbling block or hindrance. Ministry has all corners of need.  Workers ministering get hungry-baking/fixing food feed them or money buy’s food.  You see.  There is always a need.

Showing up being involved when you can is important.  It’s just as important as staying home when you just can’t get out of bed.

I know the struggle of having to push through pain to get through the day. When sitting through a service means you have fire ants attacking.   Keeping things in perspective; don’t let the illness suck the life out of you.  Don’t let it have your joy too.  When you can do- do it to the best of our ability- no matter how great or small that ability is.

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.”       (Colossians 3:23-24)

 

That is what’s so awesome about prayer.  Did I mention that already?  It doesn’t take any movement, energy, or money.  All it takes is a commitment in your heart.  If you can’t help physically- you can commit to pray each and every day for the souls of the children being ministered to.  That is the most valuable, precious, contribution a person of any age background, or condition can allow.

I want to encourage you to try.

                                 to volunteer.

                                        to bless someone.

                                  to contribute.

                                             to pray.

Because it matters and you matter!

“We love him, because he first loved us.” (I John 4:19)

“But grow in grace and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  To him be glory both now and forever- Amen”  (2 Peter 3:18)

Be a mentor, because yesterday’s kids are becoming today’s adults.  They need to lead.  They need to grow too- just as you.

Never stop growing-even with monkeys,

Lena

 

 

 

photo credit: stigmann <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/146415579@N02/33829560554″>Stud and Nany</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

