It’s Not Good Bye…

Why is it so hard to say good bye? Nope, I am not referring to a crying, loving, or leaving country song.  It’s more like a real life reality show without the dramatic music and cliff hanger endings. I’ve started the process of liberating me from my house. More specifically, it is the collection of a sewing dream turned business that grew and took over half of my living room.   I am held captive by my once consuming passion turned business.

It’s quite bittersweet to be saying goodbye to The Blue Bobbin.  I didn’t come to this decision lightly. Due to my diagnosis of Interstitial Cystitis I have decided to let this obligation go.  You see stress contributes to pain and flares. While I am not a perfect person; I am a perfectionist at heart. I strive to do perfect work even though I fall very short from it.  I have such great stomach distress when I flub up and can think of nothing else.

Most share the view that if a person is paying for a service you deserve the very best in return. Wouldn’t you agree?  Can you imagine being responsible for someone’s most sacred grandmother’s quilt and putting it into your hands for repair?  No Pressure!

I started the process of going through everything like a belated spring cleaning trip. A craft room explosion has happened as I am navigating patterns, notions, and fabric (que the hyperventilating) and everything I have stashed that I forgot about. Over the years I have been gifted all sorts of things from retiring seamstresses.  Buttons, I nearly had an anxiety attach over the thought of giving up my button collection.  Most of the inventory I’m pretty OK with saying goodbye to with the great exception to the buttons and fabric.   Why is that so hard?


I whittled my way through the stacks of fabric piles remembering old familiar prints.  They speak to me like old photos or sentimental keepsakes.  The clothes are long passed down with only the remaining swatches of familiarity. They were put away and saved for some last piece of purpose in the form of a quilt.

I didn’t just want to give it all to a resale so that they will make a profit. I petitioned my friends and have made goodie bags! So exiting, I’m dividing it all up for them.  I do have a keep pile which is 1/3 of what I had and probably still too much.  I’m saying good bye to my pattern collection.  I had collected quite a few vintage patterns.

My civil war collection still sits in limbo.  I’m keeping the Peppermint Swirl for distant future grand blessings.

Don’t fear, I’m keeping my ole girl Bernie. I’ll still sew for the family now and again. I’m not hanging up my needles and thread just yet.

I have some projects on the brew some pretty big ones actually. I have been procrastinating one of them as it signals the end of another era.

I’ll always be a seamstress a heart thankful for those two years I got to get paid to do what I love.  I lived the dream of every midnight, weekend, and holiday seamstress.

When it comes down to it– I must love a challenge as I have a new mountain to climb.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:27)

Literally Blessed,

Lena

One thought on “It’s Not Good Bye…

  1. Oh Celina! It is so hard to let go…but just imagine all of the amazing things that the Lord has in store for you next? I’m excited for those receiving your goodie bags. It is always nice to receive a blessing from someone ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

